font crush: landmark

It’s not everyday you fall in love with a font.

Every once in awhile I hop on over to Hoefler & Frere-Jones website to see if there are any fonts that I need. Something fresh and inspiring. Other times I look at their typefaces to remind myself what well-made fonts look like.

And then I came across Landmark.

Check out this little orchestra of lines and curves.

landmark-slide-07

landmark-slide-01

landmark-slide-03

landmark-slide-10

I don’t really want to describe it because it’s just so obviously beautiful, but I’ll get into it a little bit. It reminds me of the first time I saw Futura. The straight lines mixed with the geometric curves are just so perfectly balanced. Landmark allows for a bit more leeway in kerning because of its narrow stature (ie. the “A” isn’t so horizontal and awkward against a vertical letter). It is clean and thin-lined without disappearing when sized down. The various styles give it a unique versatility that can accompany many identities and other typefaces. Its simplicity is key: all-capitals, one weight, etc. It’s architectural, as the name suggests, designed for the Lever House on Park Ave. I’m. In. Love.

One of my favorite things about this foundry is how extremely thorough they are with each typeface. Each has its own page, a history and background section and a whole list of its features as well as suggestions for what other fonts will work well with said font. Aside from the obvious quality of craftsmanship and attention to detail, they make being a designer lovely. I hope I can find a good excuse to buy it soon!

Leave a Reply

